Asia Pacific appointment highlights of the month – August 2018

7 September, 2018

The travel, tourism and aviation industries in the Asia Pacific witness policy and upper level changes on a daily basis. It is important to not only keep tabs of these organisations direction, but to also monitor changes in executive branches to see the wider picture of the travel market. The Blue Swan Daily will keep you informed of these movements each month, with a full wrap of the key changes in the Asia Pacific, while also looking forward to key appointments announced for the following month.

Here are the key executive changes for August 2018:

  • HNA Group announced the following changes to its management team and portfolio company board representation, effective immediately:
    • Xiangdong Tan has been appointed chairman of HNA International. Mr Tan will continue in his roles as vice chairman and chief executive officer of HNA Group;
    • Chao Chen has been appointed chief investment officer of HNA Group, succeeding Shuang (James) Wang. Mr Chen has also been named executive chairman of HNA International;
    • Ling Zhang, Xiaofeng Chen, Chao Chen and Daoqui Liu have been elected to the Swissport Board of Directors with Mr Zhang as chairman and Xiaofeng Chen as vice-chairman.
    • HNA Group appointed Chen Xiaofeng as deputy CEO, responsible for the group's international business.
  • Sunshine Coast Airport CEO Peter Pallot announced plans to retire later in 2018 following 12 years at the airport, first as GM and later CEO.
  • Perth Airport announced the following executive changes:
    • Chief corporate service officer Debra Blaskett appointed acting COO, replacing COO Guy Thompson;
    • Sandra de Kock appointed acting chief corporate service officer, replacing Debra Blaskett.
  • Australia's Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Infrastructure and Transport Michael McCormack announced the appointment of Anthony Mathews as chair of Australia's Civil Aviation Safety Authority (CASA) for a three year term effective 20-Aug-2018.
  • Airbus appointed Anand E Stanley to succeed Pierre de Bausset as Airbus India president and MD from 01-Oct-2018.
  • Pakistan International Airlines reassigned CFO Nayyar Hayat as chief special project to handle the carrier's 2007 to 2018 audit matters. GM budget Asad Abbas will serve as acting CFO following the executive change.
  • China Southern Airlines announced the appointment of Cheng Yong as EVP on 21-Aug-2018.
  • Nok Air announced the following board resolutions on 27-Aug-2018:
    • Approved the resignation of director and CEO Piya Yodmani, effective 22-Sep-2018;
    • Appointed director Pravej Ongartsittigul as acting CEO, effective 27-Aug-2018
  • Australia's Prime Minister Scott Morrison appointed Simon Birmingham as Minister for trade, tourism and investment on 26-Aug-2018.
  • Thai Airways' board appointed Sumet Damrongchaitham as president, effective 01-Sep-2018 to 31-Aug-2022. Mr Damrongchaitham was also appointed as acting EVP finance and accounting, effective 01-Sep-2018, following the resignation of EVP finance and accounting Narongchai Wongthanavimok in Aug-2018.
  • Malaysia Airlines appointed Boo Hui Yee as chief financial officer and Ignatius Ong as chief revenue officer.
  • Qantas Airways appointed Sam Charmand as company chief information officer and Alastair Robertson as his successor in the same role at Qantas Loyalty.
  • Nippon Cargo Airlines announced the appointment of Toshiaki Kobori as SVP, effective 01-Sep-2018.
  • Hindustan Aeronautics Limited (HAL) announced R Madhavan has taken over as chairman and managing director on 01-Sep-2018, succeeding T Suvarna Raju.
  • SriLankan Airlines announced the appointment of Vipula Gunatilleka as the interim Group CEO
  • Pakistan's Supreme Court declared the appointment of Pakistan International Airlines CEO Musharraf Rasool Cyan as illegal and suspended his role with the carrier.