ASPAC appointment wrap of the month - August 2017

5 September, 2017

The travel, tourism and aviation industries in the Asia Pacific region witness policy and upper level changes on a daily basis. It is important to not only keep tabs of these organisations direction, but to also monitor changes in executive branches to see the wider picture of the travel market.

Blue Swan will keep you informed of these movements each month, with a full wrap of the key changes in the ASPAC market, while also looking forward to key appointments announced for the following month.

Here are the key executive changes for Aug-2017:

  • Qantas Group made major changes to its executive management, in fact too many to list. To see the full list, visit the following link.
  • Tourism NT announced executive director Angela Collar retired on 31-Aug-2017, following more than 30 years of service. Andrew Hopper will formally take on responsibility for the tourism portfolio in his capacity as Department of Tourism and Culture deputy CEO effective 01-Sep-2017.
  • BAE Systems Australia appointed Gabrielle (Gabby) Costigan as new CEO. She will join the company on 02-Oct-2017 and assume the role of CEO by Mar-2018 after a global transition programme.
  • Qatar Airways Group Chief Executive Akbar al-Baker has been elected chairman of the Board of Governors (BoG) of International Air Transport Association (IATA), effective Jun-2018.
  • Indian Railways outlined the appointment of Air India chairman and MD Ashwani Lohani as Railways Board Chairman from 24-Aug-2017. Rajiv Bansal has been appointed as interim chairman and Managing Director of Air India for three months.
  • Melbourne Tullamarine Airport appointed Luke Halliday as chief information officer (CIO). Mr Halliday succeeded Paul Bunker who resigned in Jan-2017.
  • Tourism and Transport Forum Australia (TTF) welcomed the appointment of Bruce Baird AM as new chairman of Business Events Sydney. Mr Baird is a former chair of TTF, as well as a NSW Minister, Federal Member of Parliament, trade commissioner and chair of the National Rail Corporation.
  • Carlson Wagonlit Travel (CWT) appointed Bindu Bhatia as its new MD, Asia Pacific, effective 01-Sep-2017. Ms Bhatia succeeds Kai Chan, who departed on 31-Aug-2017, after a five-year tenure.
  • Carlson Wagonlit Travel appoints Michael Ryan as MD for Australia & New Zealand operations.
  • UPS China appointed Harold Peters as president, succeeding Richard Loi who is retiring.
  • Wanaka Airport concluded the recruitment process for an operations manager with the appointment of Daniel Debono, effective Jan-2018. Mr Debono is currently Dunedin Airport's GM infrastructure and service delivery.
  • PT Angkasa Pura I (API) appointed Sardjono Jhonny Tjitrokusumo as director of international relations and business development. The appointment is a newly created position to the company's board of directors.
  • Australian Government appointed Brisbane Airport MD & CEO Julieanne Alroe as the new chair of the independent Infrastructure Australia Board.
  • Virgin Australia announced the resignation of non-executive director David Baxby, effective 10-Aug-2017.
  • Nok Air announced the resignation of chairman and independent director Somchainuk Engtrakul, effective 11-Aug-2017.
  • Jet Airways announced the appointment of Vinay Dube as CEO after receipt of all requisite Government and regulatory approvals.
  • Latin American and Caribbean Air Transport Association (ALTA) executive committee appointed Luis Felipe de Oliveira as its new executive director, effective 01-Oct-2017.
  • World Travel & Tourism Council (WTTC) appointed Gloria Guevara Manzo as president and CEO.
  • Cathay Pacific appointed Charlie Stewart-Cox as GM of Northeast Asia region, effective 01-Aug-2017.
  • Virgin Atlantic Cargo appointed Jarrod Paterson as account manager Melbourne to support the launch of new services by Virgin Australia.
  • Virgin Atlantic Cargo named Dominic Kennedy as MD on 14-Aug-2017, succeeding John Lloyd.
  • Deutsche Lufthansa AG appointed Anton Musin as GM of New Zealand and the Pacific Islands, effective 01-Oct-2017.
  • Air New Zealand board announced Sir John Key, the former Prime Minister of New Zealand, will be elected as an independent director following his appointment on 01-Sep-2017.
  • Tata Sons announced the appointment of Banmali Agrawala as president infrastructure, defence and aerospace. He will report to the executive chairman N Chandrasekaran in his new role. Mr Agrawala will assume his new role on 01-Oct-2017.
  • Nepal Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuba inducted 15 more state ministers in his cabinet on 22-Aug-2017, including Sumitra Tharuni as Minister for Culture, Tourism and Civil Aviation
  • Japan Air Commuter stated JAL executive Mashiko Osako was appointed as board member, as per a shareholder's meeting on 29-Jun-2017.
  • HK Express appointed Jonathan Hutt as new commercial director, effective 01-Aug-2017.
  • Uber board voted unanimously to appoint Dara Khosrowshahi as CEO, effective 30-Aug-2017.
  • Air Niugini appointed Bonai Pepena Wala as general manager property and facilities.
  • Qantas appointed Rob James as chief technology officer, succeeding Chris Taylor who resigned in May-2017. Mr James commenced the role in Aug-2017.