EMEA appointment highlights of the month – May-2018

11 June, 2018

The travel, tourism and aviation industries in the EMEA region witness policy and upper level changes on a daily basis. It is important to not only keep tabs of these organisations direction, but to also monitor changes in executive branches to see the wider picture of the travel market. The Blue Swan Daily will keep you informed of these movements each month, with a full wrap of the key changes in the EMEA market, while also looking forward to key appointments announced for the following month. Here are the key executive changes for May-2018:

  • Royal Schiphol Group appointed Jabine van der Meijs as CFO, succeeding Els de Groot. The group also appointed Dick Benschop as its new chief executive effective 01-May-2018.
  • Brussels Airlines appointed Dieter Vranckx as CFO, deputy CEO and the third member of the management board on 01-May-2018.
  • Air France-KLM announced Anne-Marie Couderc will act as non-executive board chairman of the Air France-KLM and Air France, following the resignation of chairman & CEO Jean-March Janaillac.
  • SAGA SpA's board appointed Enrico Paolini as president on 30-Apr-2018.
  • Luxembourg Air Navigation Administration (Luxembourg ANA) appointed Claudio Clori as director and Constant Rausch as deputy director on 03-May-2018.
  • Ireland's Minister for Transport, Tourism and Sport Shane Ross appointed Basil Geoghegan as chairman designate of daa on 08-May-2018.
  • Southampton Airport appointed Neil Garwood as MD, succeeding Dave Lees. Mr Garwood will commence as MD on 01-Jun-2019 when Mr Lees departs to take up the role of CEO of Bristol Airport.
  • Airbus CFO Harald Wilhelm announced plans to resign in 2019.
  • Aegean Airlines presented its reconstituted board following the passing of chairman Theodore Vassilakis on 17-May-2018. Key appointments/reappointments include:
    • Eftichios Vassilakis: Chairman, executive director;
    • Anastasios David: Vice chairman, non executive director;
    • Dimitrios Gerogiannis: CEO, executive director.
  • Finnair CEO Pekka Vauramo resigned to join Metso Corporation as its new CEO, effective Nov-2018.
  • TUI Group reorganised its leadership and appointed Kenton Jarvis as CEO aviation within markets and airlines.
  • UK's Civil Aviation Authority announced Richard Moriarty assumed the role of CEO on 24-May-2018.
  • Ukroboronprom appointed Aleksandr Donets as Antonov president.
  • South Africa's Public Enterprises Minister Pravin Gordhan announced the appointment of Mmakeaya Magoro Tryphosa Ramano as chair of SA Express' board.
  • Cobalt Air former chief safety security & compliance officer Guy Maclean announced his appointment to the position of accountable manager.
  • Toulouse Blagnac Airport appointed Philippe Crébassa as CEO, succeeding Jean-Michel Vernhes.
  • Oman Aviation Group announced the appointment of Mustafa bin Mohammed bin Zaher Al Hinai as the group's CEO on 15-May-2018.


  • SkyTeam named Kristin Colvile as its new CEO on 04-Jun-2018.
  • IATA announced Qatar Airways Group CEO Akbar Al Baker assumed his duties as chairman of the IATA board of governors for a one year term, effective 05-Jun-2018.
  • Flybe stated CEO Christine Ourmières-Widener was appointed to IATA's board of governors. Ms Ourmières-Widener is the only woman on the 31 member body.