Europe, Middle East & Africa appointment highlights - Jul-2020

13 August, 2020

The travel, tourism and aviation industries in the EMEA region witness policy and upper level changes on a daily basis. It is important to not only keep tabs of these organisations direction, but to also monitor changes in executive branches to see the wider picture of the travel market. The Blue Swan Daily will keep you informed of these movements each month, with a full wrap of the key changes in the EMEA market, while also looking forward to key appointments announced for the month.

Here are the key executive changes for Jul-2020:

  • FlyBosnia appointed Haris Čoloman as new CEO. Mr Čoloman was employed as the carrier's executive director until Sep-2019. The position of CEO was previously held by Tarik Bilalbegović.
  • Volga-Dnepr Group announced changes to its board of directors to the following restructured membership:
    • Chairman: Volga-Dnepr Group founder and co-owner Alexey Isaikin;
    • Deputy chairman: Co-owner Sergey Shklyanik and executive operating officer Tatiana Arslanova
  • South Africa's Department of Public Enterprises announced Phillip Saunders appointed South African Airways (SAA) interim CEO.
  • Shannon Group MD Andrew Murphy announced he was appointed as Ryanair director of revenue management, effective Aug-2020.
  • SkyUp appointed Dimitro Seroukhov as acting director general. Yevhen Khainatsky resigned from the position on 17-Jul-2020.
  • Etihad Aviation Group MD cargo and logistics Abdulla Mohamed Shadid plans to step down in Nov-2020. Mr Shadid stated he will "take up a new challenge within Abu Dhabi later this year, but outside Etihad Aviation Group".
  • KLM Royal Dutch Airlines announced the appointment of Eelco van Asch as EVP information services and chief information officer, effective 01-Sep-2020. He succeeds Paul Elich, who will be retiring on the same date.
  • Oman Air announced the appointment of Dr Mohammed Al Barwani as chairman of the board.
  • CargoLogic Germany appointed Dierk Näther as MD, effective 01-Aug-2020. Mr Näther will succeed Johannes Jähn.
  • Wizz Air announced chief investment officer Iain Wetherall will step down from his position to pursue other opportunities, effective 15-Aug-2020.
  • IAG approved the succession plan for chairman Antonio Vázquez and his successor Javier Ferrán.