Going Places – industry appointment highlights for Nov-2020

3 December, 2020

The travel, tourism and aviation industries in the across the globe witness policy and upper level changes on a daily basis. It is important to not only keep tabs of these organisations direction, but to also monitor changes in executive branches to see the wider picture of the travel market. CTC – Corporate Travel Community aims to keep you informed of these movements each month, with a full wrap of the key changes across regional markets, while also featuring key appointments announced for the month.

Here are the key executive changes for Nov-2020;


  • Alaska Air Group announced the retirement of CEO Brad Tilden from 31-Mar-2021, whereupon he will be succeeded by president Ben Minicucci.
  • Piedmont Airlines announced the appointment of president Eric Morgan as CEO and president, effective Jan-2021. Mr Morgan will succeed Lyle Hogg, who will retire as CEO at the end of 2020.

Asia Pacific

  • Alliance Air announced Harpreet A De Singh commenced in her role as Alliance Air CEO.
  • Air India Express CEO Aloke Singh commenced in his role on 09-Nov-2020, replacing K Shyam Sundar.
  • Nok Air announced the resignation of Prasert Bunsumpun as independent director and chairman of the board, effective 09-Nov-2020.
  • China Southern Air Holding Company announced the appointment of its president Ma Xunlun as chairman and party secretary, succeeding Wang Changshun.
  • Air New Zealand appointed Richard Thomson as CFO.
  • SpiceJet appointed Sanjeev Taneja as CFO, effective immediately.
  • Nok Air reported the resignation of Pravej Ongartsittigul as director and chairman of the executive committee, effective 13-Nov-2020.


  • Etihad Airways announced a number of changes to its organisational structure, in order to place itself as a mid sized, full service carrier with a leaner and scaleable organisational structure. Changes to executive leadership is as follows:
    • Terry Daly appointed as executive director for guest experience, brand and marketing;
    • Chief commercial officer (CCO) Robin Kamark to depart business;
    • SVP for sales and distribution Duncan Bureau to depart business;
    • Chief transformation officer Akram Alami to depart business;
    • Chief risk and compliance officer Mutaz Saleh to leave his position.
  • Wizz Air Holdings signed a new service contract with Wizz Air Group CEO József Váradi.
  • Lufthansa Group appointed Remco Steenbergen as CFO, replacing interim CFO Carsten Spohr.
  • El Al announced chief financial officer Palti Dganit is to leave the carrier effective 22-Dec-2020.
  • Aeroflot's deputy director general Andrey Chikhanchin was appointed acting director general.
  • Lufthansa Group announced a series of management changes at three group airlines as follows:
    • SWISS' board of directors plans to appoint Dieter Vranckx, currently CEO of Brussels Airlines, as the new CEO of SWISS, effective 01-Jan-2021. He succeeds Thomas Klühr, who will leave the company at the end of 2020;
    • Brussels Airlines named Peter Gerber as new CEO, succeeding Mr Vranckx, effective 01-Mar-2021. Mr Gerber will also assume the newly created position of Lufthansa Group chief representative for European affairs in Brussels;
    • Lufthansa Cargo will appoint Dorothea von Boxberg as CEO and chairwoman, succeeding Mr Gerber, effective 01-Mar-2021.
  • Aeroflot's board elected Mikhail Poluboyarinov as CEO, effective immediately.
  • Virgin Atlantic appointed Estelle Hollingsworth as chief people officer and Oliver Byers as chief financial officer.
  • El Al announced Gonen Usishkin's term as CEO will cease on 31-Jan-2021.
  • El Al appointed Avigal Soreq as CEO, effective Jan-2021.