Japan declares state of emergency to seven additional prefectures

    Japan‘s Prime Minister Yoshihide Suga, via the government’s official website, declared (13-Jan-2021) a state of emergency in seven additional prefectures including Osaka, Aichi, Tochigi, Gifu, Hyogo, Kyoto and Fukuoka, effective until 07-Feb-2021 (Kyodo, 13-Jan-2021). The government previously declared a state of emergency for Tokyo, Chiba, Kanagawa and Saitama. The 11 prefectures cover more than half of the country’s population and around 60% of its economy.

    We use cookies and other web technologies to collect anonymous data about the usage of this website so that we can better serve your needs. If you'd like more information on this data please see our Privacy Settings. By clicking "I Agree" below, you are agreeing to allow us to collect additional usage data.