New Zealand Government outlines Pacific Islands travel restrictions

6 May, 2020

New Zealand's Government outlined (05-May-2020) the following travel restrictions to Pacific Island nations:

  • Fiji: Restricted to Fiji nationals only, who must quarantine for 14 days upon arrival;
  • French Polynesia and New Caledonia: Air New Zealand services to Noumea and Papeete suspended until further notice. Both Governments are managing travel through special repatriation flights;
  • Niue: Travel to Niue is restricted to repatriating residents of Niue and essential services people who have received advance approval from the Niue Government for travel. Passengers must quarantine at government approved accommodation in Niue for 14 days. A limit of 26 people fortnightly are permitted to enter Niue until Aug-2020, unless the Niue Government advise otherwise;
  • Samoa and Tonga: All passenger aircraft restricted until further notice. [more - original PR]