Qantas announces shortlist of regional cities for training academy inc three in NSW, two in Qld

22 June, 2018

Qantas Group released (22-Jun-2018) a shortlist of the nine regional cities in the running to be home to the new Qantas Group Pilot Academy. The academy, due to open in 2019, is part of the Qantas Group's plans to build a long term talent pipeline for its airlines and meet the increasing need for skilled aviation professionals. More than 60 regional cities put forward a proposal and nine regional cities across Australia, strongly supported by state and territory governments, have now been selected to move to the next phase of the process:

  • Alice Springs, Northern Territory;
  • Bendigo, Victoria;
  • Busselton, Western Australia;
  • Dubbo, New South Wales;
  • Launceston, Tasmania;
  • Mackay, Queensland;
  • Tamworth, New South Wales;
  • Toowoomba, Queensland;
  • Wagga Wagga, New South Wales.

The academy management team will visit these cities and meet with community leaders, suppliers and airport operators to further evaluate the feasibility of each location. A final decision on the location is expected to be made in 3Q2018. Qantas Group is in separate discussions with several training providers, and will be releasing a formal tender process "in coming weeks". [more - original PR]