Rwanda introduces new visa regime

21 November, 2017

Rwanda's Directorate General of Immigration and Emigration announced (16-Nov-2017) a new visa regime and noted the following details:

  • Rwanda will grant free 90 day visas to visitors from Benin, the Central African Republic, Chad, Ghana, Guinea, Indonesia, Haiti, Senegal, the Seychelles and Sao Tome and Principe on a reciprocal basis, in addition to East African Community partner states, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Mauritius, the Philippines and Singapore, effective immediately;
  • Citizens of all countries will receive a visa on arrival without prior application from 01-Jan-2018;
  • Citizens of Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa member states will receive a 90 day visa on arrival, effective immediately;
  • Rwandans living abroad with dual nationality may use national IDs on entry;
  • Returning residents may use valid residence cards on entry, including using e-gates at Kigali International Airport.

Rwanda's Minister of Foreign Affairs Louise Mushikiwabo said: "The new visa regime opens Rwanda to the world and is good for business. Rwanda believes that the free movement of people fosters trade and tourism, and is good for the continent's integration policy. We are aware of the challenges of open borders, but as a country, we also believe that the benefits of our policy outweigh the potential setbacks". (The East African, 17-Nov-2017). [more - original PR]