UK Government expands use of eGates to seven additional countries

21 May, 2019

UK's Government extended (20-May-2019) the use of biometric border control gates (eGates) to visitors from Australia, Canada, Japan, New Zealand, Singapore, South Korea and the US holding ePassports. More than 10 million arrivals were reported into the UK by nationals from these countries in 2017. The government will also remove the need for all travellers to fill in landing cards upon arrival in the UK to speed up border entry. [more - original PR]